Chakras Explained - What are Chakras?

Chakras Explained – What are Chakras?

Chakras explained: what are they and what do they do?

Heard about chakras?  Not really sure what they are or what they do? If so, then this guide is just for you.
A chakra (pronounced “cha-kra”) is an energy center within the body. A chakra helps regulate all our various physiological and neurological systems. These include our emotions, organ functions and immune system.
Originating from Sanskrit, Chakra translates to ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’.  We can imagine chakras as being swirling wheels of energy within our bodies. There are seven main chakras, and these align the spine, starting from the tailbone to the crown of the head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency and corresponding colour. Each one governs specific functions within your body and effects your emotional wellbeing. Therefore to stay feeling energetic and well, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and balanced.
Keeping your chakras in check can be challenging. When the energy becomes blocked in a chakra problems occur. It can trigger physical, mental, or emotional imbalances.  These can manifest in all manner of symptoms. From anxiety to constipation to chest infections. With some self-awareness, yoga and meditation unblock and balance your chakras. Getting them back into tip-top shape fast.
So how do chakras connect with yoga? Learning which phsyical and emotional elements are assocaited with a chakra is vital and therefore really worth knowing.  Furthermore, as a result of having this information you will have help when you are rebalancing them.  So, you can fine-tune your asana practice to free up energy. In turn this stimulates any imbalanced chakras. A focused meditation can also work wonders to restore chakras. So, for example, if you feel you need more courage to speak your truth, focus on asanas that open and stimulate the throat chakra.  Then maybe meditate on the throat chakra and the color blue.
 So which chakra is which?


First chakra: base

Color: red

Located at the base of the spine, the base chakra connects us with the adrenal glands.  It is the chakra of stability, the point of security. It is very grounding. When this chakra is open and balanced, we become safe, grounded and furthermore fearless. 

Second chakra: sacral

Color: orange

The sacral chakra is located around the groin area, above the pubic bone and below the navel. It is our creativity and sexual center and links to the gonads. When this chakra balances, we become creative, expressive and consequently open to the world.


Third chakra: chi/Qi/solar plexus

Color: yellow

The third chakra is located in the area above the navel and just below the solar plexus. On a physical level it maps with the pancreas. It governs digestion, power issues, self-esteem and willpower. With an open third chakra, giving us confidence, self-loving and therefore reliability.


Fourth chakra: heart

Color: green

This chakra is located in the center of the chest. It’s at the middle of the seven chakras and is important in our emotional and spiritual development. It is our source of love. When this chakra is open and balanced, we experience love, kindness. Further more it creates compassion for others but also for ourselves.


Fifth chakra: throat

Color: blue

Located in the area of the throat, the fifth chakra is the source of authentic verbal expression.  It governs the ability to speak our highest truth. It is our communication center and connected to personal integrity. Because when this chakra balances, we are able to communicate with clarity. Our communication has integrity, and we generate the ability to listen well.


Sixth chakra: third eye

Color: purple

The third eye is located between the eyebrows and is therefore the center of our intuition. This chakra governs our thought, psychic abilities and spiritual contemplation. Most of all, it is important for enlightenment. So, when this chakra is open, you can see and understand.


Seventh chakra: crown

Color: white

Located on the top of the head, this chakra is associated with the entire endocrine and nervous system.  Therefore it is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection. So, wh hen fully open, we feel gratitude, guided and connected to the universe.

Pin It on Pinterest